Straight Edge

17Feb13

“Straight Edge” – Minor Threat 

I’m a person just like you
But I’ve got better things to do
Than sit around and f**k my head
Hang out with the living dead
Snort white s**t up my nose
Pass out at the shows
I don’t even think about speed
That’s something I just don’t need

I’ve got the straight edge

I’m a person just like you
But I’ve got better things to do
Than sit around and smoke dope
‘Cause I know I can cope
Laugh at the thought of eating ludes
Laugh at the thought of sniffing glue
Always gonna keep in touch
Never want to use a crutch

I’ve got the straight edge

The words of this song sung by American punk rock vocalist Ian MacKaye sparked a social movement in the 1980’s.  This movement, the straight edge movement, spread across the punk rock listening population of the era’s youth.  This type of music was generally associated with sex, drugs, crime, and violence. Followers of the straight edge movement took an unexpected turn by rejecting these vices and choosing to be abstinent, sober, and law-abiding.

Was the straight edge movement a direct response to MacKaye’s catalytic words?  Had this turnaround in attitude been milling in the punk rock scene for a while, hibernating, waiting for MacKaye’s wake up alarm?   Is there a sense of dignified morality buried in the hearts of society’s most dissident?  What kind of reaction did straight edge followers receive from fellow punk rock fans?  Was the new point of view just another turn in the flow of dynamic social scenes?  Another typical rebellion of the status quo?

I’d like to explore the motives of the straight edge movement, as well as what kind of reactions there were in response to the irony of it all.  This movement intrigues me.  I am interested in anything associated with music.  I too have had my experience with teenage social scene trends.  Having been through my own personal social movements, I’m excited to learn how they come to be and what makes them carry on the way they do.

No Responses Yet to “Straight Edge”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

