Reflection

09Dec13
Getting "spiritual"

Getting “spiritual”

This project may appear to be an extension of my Christian faith.  Really, it’s  an attempted substitution for it.  The reason why I went searching for God in culture is because I prefer culture to bible study, prayer, fellowship.  This was a humbling revelation to come to.  Like a Straight Edge extremist championing clean ideology or a Westboro Baptist Church member picketing nonsense,  I started here with blind certainty seeking to revolutionize and disrupt the status quo.  Young people have a sense of calling to change the world, with how discontent they tend to be with it.  Sometimes we get blinded by ambition.  Sometimes we are blind to how much we actually love the world as it is.

Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman

As hopeful and amateur as my blog is, and with the tiny following I scavenge from spamming my Facebook and Twitter accounts, it stands as my effort to “change the world.”  By “the world,” I mean your internal world, where you hold silent conversations between your conscience and the content you read.  “Everybody has a secret world inside of them,” said Neil Gaiman.  From my secret world, this project helped me unveil a secret of my own.  I have a heart for this world, but there should be no place here for my heart.  “Not of this world,” say the car window stickers that are so popular here in Orange County.  I should really stop rolling my eyes at them and see them as the signs God’s been trying to show me.

I’ve always believed to know the good, you have to know the bad too.  My Ingkong used to say, “Christians are like tea bags.  They’re useless unless they’ve been in hot water.”  Whether it be hot water, or the icy depths of depression, the bad things Christians go through help them value the good things all the more.  And every good thing comes from God.  Because culture is so often connotated to be “bad,” I wanted to reconcile it with Christianity.  But there is a dialectic there that may never be resolved.  That dialectic happens world-wide, and within my own story.  But regarding the Christian in society, Martin Luther described the beliefs that I still maintain:

“… At one and the same time you satisfy God’s kingdom inwardly and the kingdom of the world outwardly.  You suffer evil and injustice, and yet at the same time you punish evil and injustice; you do not resist evil, and yet at the same time, you do resist it.  In the one case, you consider yourself and what is yours; in the other, you consider your neighbor and what is his.  In what concerns you and yours, you govern yourself by the gospel and suffer injustice toward yourself as a true Christian; in what concerns the person or property of others, you govern yourself according to love and tolerate no injustice toward your neighbor. “

Martin Luther

Martin Luther

Back to "An Ephesian Moment"

Back to “An Ephesian Moment”

No Responses Yet to “Reflection”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

